Welcome to the City of Fort Myers, Florida home page. Fort Myers is located in Southwest Florida in Lee County on the banks of the Caloosahatchee River. It was incorporated in 1885 with the honorable Howell A. Parker as the first Mayor. Fort Myers has a vibrant population of 46,474 and is projected to grow to 60,000 by the year 2010.

City Hall is located at 2200 Second Street in the heart of historical downtown. It lies between Second Street on the north and Dr. Martin Luther King Blvd. on the south. Public parking is available. City Hall hours of operation are 7:30am to 4:30pm, Monday through Friday (Holidays excepted). City Council Meetings are held on the first and third Mondays of each month at 6:30pm in Council Chambers located on the first floor of City Hall. The public is encouraged to attend.

City Attractions
City Neighborhoods
City Job Opportunities
City Departments in City Hall
City Departments Outside City Hall

City of Fort Myers Attractions:

Historical Homes

The Edison-Ford Winter Estates offer year round guided tours through the winter homes of Henry Ford and Thomas Edison. There is trolley service to the Burroughs Home, the Imaginarium and the Historical Museum for a nominal fee


The newly opened Imaginarium Hands On Museum offers a variety of exhibits for children of all ages. Special group rates are available. A full service Gift Shop offers souveniers of a memorable visit.

Fort Myers Country Club

Located on scenic McGregor Boulevard offers the public a challenging par 72 round. The Course was built in 1912 by Frank Loyd Wright and the Clubhouse has been rebuilt on the original site. Smitty's Restaurant has been rated four stars by Jean LeBouf, food critic for the Fort Myers News-Press

Eastwood Golf Course

Rated as one of the top 50 municipal courses in the country, this golf course is located off Ortiz Avenue near Colonial Blvd, this challenging course is open to the public year round. A full service ProShop and Snack Bar are available.

City Neighborhoods:

The City of Fort Myers is very much like a patchwork quilt. Each neighborhood's unique personality is like a colorful patch on the quilt. Click on one of the following neighborhood pictures to find out more.

Velasco Village

This area, formerly known as the "Bottoms", is a proud example of successful community redevelopment. GDBG funds are used to buy land, demolish old structures, and to build new homes for area residents.

Historic Downtown

Dean Park

Lovejoy Park

Edison Park


Michigan Court

Allen Park

The following departments
are located in City Hall:
Mayor's Office 4th floor 332-5555
City Clerk 4th floor 332-5555
City Council 4th floor 332-5555
City Cemetery Administration 4th floor 332-5555
Office of Management and Budget 4th floor 332-5555
City Attorney's Office 3rd floor 332-5555
City Internal Auditor 3rd floor 332-5555
Risk Management 3rd floor 332-5555
Information Systems 3rd floor 332-5555
Planning Department 2nd floor 332-5555
Engineering Department 2nd floor 332-5555
Public Works Administration 2nd floor 332-5555
Finance Department 1st floor 332-5555
Utility Services 1st floor 332-5555
Payroll Department 1st floor 332-5555
Special Assessment Administration 1st floor 332-5555
Council Chambers Anteroom 1st floor 332-5555

In addition to the departments located in City Hall, the following departments are located at their respective sites:

The Fort Myers Police Department is located at 2210 Peck Street in downtown Fort Myers. For emergencies always call 911. For routine Police business call 334-4155 from 7:30am to 4:30pm. The Police Department also operates an office in the Dunbar Annex at 3308 Dr Martin Luther King Blvd. The Police Department actively supports the concept of Community Policing as a means of encouraging citizen participation in the safety and security of their own neighborhoods. For more information on this and other Police activities, please call Officer Blank at 334-4155.

The Fort Myers Fire Department administration is located at 2404 Dr Martin Luther King Blvd in downton Fort Myers. For emergencies always call 911. In addition to the Central Fire Station on MLK, the City operates 3 other Fire Stations throughout the City limits. They are: Station 2 at 1035 Terry Street, Station 3 at 1915 Jefferson, and Station 4 at 4520 Cummins Court.

This web site was created by: CyberStreet
Last modified by LLP - Wednesday, July 24 1996
Copyright © 1996 Advanced Computer Information Systems, Inc.

Send any questions or comments about this page to: LLP

[ Return to CyberStreet | Top of page]